Top 5 Most Underrated African Songs

There are two types songs; those that you listen to and wonder why the hell people like them and the type that you listen to over and over again thinking your mind is going to blow up at some point, considering the number of times you have had to hit the replay button. Nothing as sad as enjoying great music alone, so bare with me as I shove my top five most underrated African songs down your throat. (I’m kidding- you will be thanking me after sampling my list)….Now plug in your head phones, turn up the music and enjoy the ride.

  1. Durotimi- Yemmi Alade

Yemi‘s strong vocals and energy would make me listen to her, whether or not I like the song (this is not to say that I don’t like this song). This girl can sing her way out of any situation, which makes me wonder if music lovers deliberately chose to ignore this one, or if this could just be one of those very few good songs that people just never get to hear about.

2. Malome- Cassper Nyovest Ft. Mahotela Queens

Cassper Nyovest is anything but predictable. And while I still haven’t figured out how he decided to work with the veteran Mahotela Queens for this collaboration, I love the rare afrosound blend with Hip Hop.

3. Christian Bella- Nishike

You haven’t listened to beautiful African music if you haven’t sampled Christian Bella‘s songs. This is the only African artist in this day and age who takes me back to the days of good old Rumba that I got to know of thanks to my dad’s  Vinyl Record collection, (child! That was GOOD music).

4. Zani Challe FT. Patoranking- Single For Tonight

If a mellow voice, beautiful face and a body to die for is a package you would enjoy, then South African born Malawian recording artist Zani Challe is the girl for you. And with Patoranking on this song, I surely don’t understand how this song has less than a million views, four months after its release.

5. Fena Gitu Ft. Kagwe Mungai & Toshi

 

I am yet to discover an artist that makes afrosound sound better than Fena. This song might have been dropped  about 3 years ago, but remains to be a timeless musical piece and a conversation that I love listening to over and over again. (But seriously though…when is the right time to go dutch on a date?)

Drop a comment, let me know if there is any other African tune that you think I should add onto my list.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Most Underrated African Songs

Leave a Reply

